About APTF Image

The APTF is unique in its approach to changing the technology environment in the pharmaceutical sector at the regional level.

Established by the African Development Bank as an independent agency, the APTF focuses on building capacities of African companies, research institutions and governments to ensure a strong and competitive pharmaceutical sector in the region. We work with a range of partners — governments, regional organizations, global agencies, industry associations, and the private sector — to improve Africa’s access to the technologies needed to discover, develop and manufacture medicines, vaccines and diagnostics.
Mission Image

To enhance access to, and the use of, technologies in Africa’s pharmaceutical sector. We create new pathways for research, development, production, certification and deployment of new drugs, vaccines, and diagnostics to create a healthy and competitive pharmaceutical market in Africa.

Future Path Image
Our Vision

Our vision is a vibrant African pharmaceutical industry that can manufacture and innovate the pharmaceutical products the continent needs to ensure the health and well-being of all its citizens.


The Eminent Advisory Council (EAC) advises APTF on its strategic direction, aligning with global, regional and national priorities for advancing pharmaceutical production and innovation in Africa. The Board of Directors guides the Foundation’s initial programmatic work (2024-2029). Although established by the African Development Bank, the APTF is an independent organization responsible for securing long-term financing for its programs. The APTF has established a Secretariat in Kigali, Rwanda. Prof. Padmashree Gehl Sampath serves as its Chief Executive Officer.

Eminent Advisory Council (EAC)

His Excellency Paul Kagame (Co-Chair)

H. E. Paul Kagame is President of the Republic of Rwanda. In 2019, he was elected Chairperson of the East African Community, and has been leading the institutional reform of the African Union (AU) since 2016.

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, an economist and international development expert, is the Director-General of the World Trade Organization (WTO).

His Excellency Moussa Faki Mahamat

H.E. Moussa Faki Mahamat, former Prime Minister of Chad (2003-2005) and Minister of Foreign Affairs (2008-2017), is Chairperson of the African Union Commission.

Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus

Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus is Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO). He is the first person from the WHO African Region to head the world’s leading public health agency.

Krishna Ella

Dr. Krishna Ella is Founder, Chairman and Managing Director of Bharat Biotech International Limited.

Her Excellency Nisia Trindade Lima

H.E. Nisia Trindade Lima is a Brazilian social scientist, sociologist and senior researcher who is currently Minister of Health of Brazil.

Akinwumi A. Adesina

Dr. Akinwumi A. Adesina has served as President of the African Development Bank (AfDB) Group since 2015. Under his direction, the AfDB has achieved its highest capital increase since its establishment in 1964.
Members of the Board

Her Excellency Monique Nsanzabaganwa

H.E. Monique Nsanzabaganwa is the Deputy Chairperson (DCP) of the African Union Commission, the first woman to hold this position. As DCP, she is responsible for administration and finance initiatives, and assists the Chairperson, Moussa Faki, in the execution of his functions as well as serves as acting Chair in his absence.

Baerbel Kofler

Dr. Baerbel Kofler is the Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) of Germany. From 2016 until 2021, she served as Federal Government Commissioner for Human Rights Policy and Humanitarian Assistance in the Federal Foreign Office. She represents the BMZ on the Board of the Foundation.

Markus Berndt

Dr. Markus Berndt is Acting Managing Director of the European Investment Bank (EIB)’s new initiative, EIB Global. Prior to this role, he led the EIB’s Group Strategy Department. Berndt also held senior positions at the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development. He represents the EIB on the APTF Board.

Peter Frank Drahos

Professor Peter Drahos, an expert in intellectual property rights, global governance, regulatory theory and patent law, is a professor in the Department of Law at the European University Institute. Prior to this role, he held positions at the Australian National University, Queen Mary University of London and in the Australian Attorney-General’s Department.

Banji Oyelaran-Oyeyinka

Professor Banji Oyelaran-Oyeyinka currently serves as Senior Special Adviser to the President of the African Development Bank (AfDB). He is renowned for his work on industrialization and innovation in Africa and has held several senior positions in the United Nations prior to joining the Bank.

Geoffrey Onyaema

Geoffrey Jideofor Kwusike Onyeama is a Nigerian diplomat and politician who served as Minister of Foreign Affairs of Nigeria (2015 to May 2023). Prior to his appointment, Onyeama worked for the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), joining the agency as an assistant programme officer in 1985, and rising through the ranks to become Deputy Director-General for the Development Sector in 2009.

Padmashree Gehl Sampath

Professor Padmashree Gehl Sampath serves as Chief Executive Officer and Executive Secretary of the Foundation. A well-respected thought leader in the fields of technology and innovation, she brings vast experience on the workings of the pharmaceutical sector in LMICs including on market shaping, finance and access to medicines. Until recently, she worked and held senior roles at Harvard University, the Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention, and several international agencies.